Why I use a Mac MBPr for Work (and Play)

Why I use a Mac MBPr for Work (and Play)

PC to Macbook

For 18 years, I only used PCs. The year I went to college (2008), I purchased a secondhand macbook. Aside from one hard drive crash (caused by me closing my laptop quickly, throwing it in my bag, and slinging my bag over my shoulder every day), I never had a failure. In fact, it is February 2013, and it still runs like a champ! For a laptop, 6+ years of life is unheard of. Also, I still get an average of 4 hours of battery life while browsing, listening to music, and using Word. Love that computer.

Macbook to Macbook Pro retina

As much as I love my macbook, I needed something a bit stronger for work. My company provided me with a new Toshiba, but the wifi utility never seemed to work, booting up took at least 5 minutes, the screen hurt my eyes, and I never felt comfortable using it for personal tasks. Seeing as how I do 90% of my work on my laptop, and I travel Mon-Thu, I needed something that was powerful, reliable, and also my own.

So, I decided to integrate my work and home computers into one: the 2012 15-inch Macbook Pro with Retina display. With an i7 processor, 8GB RAM, a solid state hard drive (SDD), it is definitely enough to get the job done. I used Bootcamp to install Windows 7 on a 100GB partition, and I use Parallels to access my Windows machine to seamlessly switch back and forth between OS X and Windows 7. If I need extra power to run more demanding applications, I can boot directly into Windows, without using Parallels.

There you have it. One computer to rule them all. Fully Mac, with my favorite applications, stable architecture, and familiar interface; Fully PC, equipped to handle my line of work, and more. It is fully Mac and fully PC . To date, I have not found a single work function I am not able to accomplish with my computer. I have been able to use all of my Office Professional apps, SharePoint Designer, SQL Server Management Studio, various Citrix apps, and also all of my Steam games.

What more could I have asked for?

Pros:

-Fast
-Reliable
-Runs Windows better than any Toshiba or HP
-Great audio, immaculate video
-7 hours of battery life, consistently (except when dual booting)
-Parallels makes Windows apps run like they were Mac apps. Seamless integration
-Apple Care. It’s hands-down the best warranty ever

Cons:

-Cost (ouch!)
-Gets very hot while gaming
-Needs an adaptor for VGA and Ethernet
-No “End” or “Home” keys (I use command+left or command+right)

Well, that’s all for now. I have a plane to catch!

Disclaimer:

I do not hate PCs, and do not think Macs are the best. I prefer Macs for ease of use and stability.

Leave a Reply

